Pictures of Interior of "New" 70 series Cruiser

Submitted: Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 00:12
ThreadID: 71287 Views:4691 Replies:12 FollowUps:13
Acknowledging some good detective work by a member of LCOOL.

Same steering wheel as in the current 200 series GXL, which itself will be upgraded this month.

I thought it was bad that Toyota hadn't changed the interior of the 70 series for 20 years but this looks like some bug-eyed thing.

Reply By: That Troopy Bloke (SA) - Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 00:16

Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 00:16
And they buggered it up by putting the steering wheel on the wrong side.

If it ain't broke....fix it until it is :-(

Glenn
AnswerID: 377903

Follow Up By: Rockape - Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 07:38

Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 07:38
Also don't know if the compass will read north is south and west is east, maybe when they ship them below the equator everything will reverse itself and the wheel will end up on the right side.
FollowupID: 645283

Reply By: you eat the bear - Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 00:17

Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 00:17
That's supposed to be better? I'm glad I bought mine already!
AnswerID: 377904

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 00:21

Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 00:21
Surely you'd buy one just to get the cup holder....

FollowupID: 645269

Follow Up By: you eat the bear - Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 07:06

Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 07:06
Actually the cup holder looks pretty good..
FollowupID: 645278

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 00:25

Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 00:25
I guess it will grow on ya over time??

Not sure how it will stand up to the attachment of various accessories with the old 3 inch tec screw though :-))

AnswerID: 377905

Reply By: Stu-k - Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 06:21

Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 06:21
Old ugly to new ugly
AnswerID: 377910

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 19:02

Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 19:02
Stu

The old dash is NOT ugly.. it's romantic

FollowupID: 645387

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 19:14

Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 19:14
"Romantic"??
Only a Troopy owner can describe the dash as romantic :-))

FollowupID: 645391

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 22:30

Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 22:30
As an old Toyota man from way back MAN THATS ONE UGLEEEE DASH
Reminds me of that character from one of the later Star War movies, you know the one with his eyes growing out of the top of his head on stalks and talks like a rapper.

Cheers Pop
FollowupID: 645428

Reply By: Rockape - Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 06:51

Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 06:51
You gotta put the air bags somewhere. Mining are now demanding air bags.

Hope they still have all the screws in them cause I can pull mine out in no time at all.
AnswerID: 377916

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 07:11

Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 07:11
I can work work with that.Mine arrives in October. Cheers Mick

AnswerID: 377922

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 12:14

Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 12:14
"I can work work with that"

Hmmm!! Shorter Tec Screws perhaps??

FollowupID: 645324

Reply By: Gronk - Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 09:28

Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 09:28
Its a pity they still don't make them for "normal" australians !!!!!!

I'm 6'5" and cannot shoehorn myself into one of these things......maybe all those farmers are "short" ???
AnswerID: 377940

Follow Up By: Karen & Geoff - Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 16:44

Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 16:44
Gronk we just brought a new cruiser ute and hubby is 6 foot 5. He has heaps of leg and head room in it, more in the new cruiser than we had in the patrol we got rid of. He was really surprised. The cabs have got a bit bigger apparently.
FollowupID: 645370

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 23:38

Saturday, Aug 08, 2009 at 23:38
Karen & Geoff
Maybe the Japs are getting bigger.

FollowupID: 645569

Follow Up By: Geoff & Karen - Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 10:02

Sunday, Aug 09, 2009 at 10:02
Doug, they must be......lol. When Geoff was working on the stations up in the Kimberly's, he used to have a lot of trouble getting into the land cruiser ute's. He used to spend more time riding in the back instead of in the front. He was quiet surprised when we went and looked at this one we have just got for our big trip.
FollowupID: 645593

Reply By: Member -Signman - Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 09:49

Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 09:49
Is that Arabic stuff standard or an accessory....

AnswerID: 377943

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 10:09

Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 10:09
"Jesus Bar"................... GONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ;-(
AnswerID: 377945

Follow Up By: DCTriton - Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 10:40

Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 10:40
Don't need it - by the time you say "JEE", you have a face full of dusty pillow...
FollowupID: 645302

Reply By: Member - Timbo - Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 12:25

Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 12:25
Thanks for the update Mr Gone Bush. It looks like they just pulled the dash straight from a late model Jeep and stuck a Toyota steering wheel on it.
AnswerID: 377977

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 12:48

Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 12:48
It does too.

FollowupID: 645333

Reply By: ben_gv3 - Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 18:44

Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 18:44
Those vents look horrible, so out of place. I think that cup holder could survive a nuclear attack.

i'm a bit worried about the chain in the passenger footwell though.
AnswerID: 378039

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 19:09

Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 19:09
The cup holder is obviously designed for a full-strength.. er... coffee.
But you'd think they could at least use a painted bracket & screw to fix it instead of that galv. one?!
FollowupID: 645390

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 19:01

Friday, Aug 07, 2009 at 19:01
I reckon it won't be long before Doug T trades his beloved Troopy for one of these hehehehehehe

AnswerID: 378043